High Risk Drivers & DUI Laws

As per Florida policy, or other US state for that matter, you are required to pay a hefty sum as insurance premium, if you are considered to be a high-risk driver. Auto insurance companies in Miami, Florida ask for you to provide all details of your car to become eligible to obtain insurance. These insurance companies integrate all pertinent information from across the State and feed it to a centralized computer system. Such information helps them in deciding insurance premium rates for their policies by ranking drivers as good, average and high-risk.

Unfortunately, not all insurers provide insurance to those who are considered to be high-risk drivers. Even when you are categorized as high-risk, this should not stop you from exerting efforts in finding the company that will insure your car. Remember, insurance is a must before you can drive the roads of Florida, so you have to find your insurer who will provide you the appropriate policy, being a high-risk driver.

Who are considered to be high-risk drivers in Miami Florida?

  • Those who possess bad driving records
  • Single individuals are known to be high-risk
  • Those who are found to have already accumulated numerous citations

Insurance companies will charge you high insurance premium if you are discovered to be a high-risk driver. Likewise, there is a tendency for your insurance to increase if you violate driving rules while driving the roads of Florida. This is why it is crucial to avoid committing driving violations to maintain a low insurance rate that will be easy on the pocket.

Dui Laws in Florida

Florida possesses Driving under Influence and Driving while Intoxicated Laws, or DUI and DWI laws. DUI means impaired driving or driving with an unlawful blood alcohol level or UBAL. If you are a driver, you have to give implied consent to undergo breath test, specifically if you are suspected of being drunk while driving by an official. There may likewise be urine and blood tests to determine the alcohol levels in urine and blood. Other specific tests may be conducted if you are involved in a car accident or suspected of motor vehicle homicide.

Penalty is at least $250 for first-time convictions. In severe cases when the blood sample indicates a high-alcohol level of at least 0.20, hefty amounts will be fined, which starts at $500 up to as much as $1000. Penalties usually include community services and alcohol-counseling classes. Jail term is a DUI penalty meant for repeat and grave offenders. Usually, it starts with a 6-month term. There are cases that when DUI is categorized as motor vehicular homicide. For instance, if you are a drunk driver, and you get involved in an accident, causing injury to your passenger, this means a grave offense. Jail terms can be as much as 30 years; it depends on the charges.

Florida Sr22 and Fr44 – for those who Committed DUI in the State

If you commit a DUI in Florida, you will have to file either an SR-22 or FR-44. SR-22 is a form that insurers use to ensure that a driver meets state liability limits. Florida car insurers submit this form via electronic means to the State Bureau of Financial Responsibility, in behalf of drivers mandated to submit such proof of insurance. The State of Florida requires that you carry minimum liability limit of $10,000 in bodily injury and $10,000 in property damage. Drivers who need to carry SR-22 pay more because of the nature of traffic violation. In addition to any extra premium for committing such offense, you will likewise have to shell out a filing fee of $15 when submitting the SR-22 form.

Florida may likewise require you to file a form similar to SR-22, the FR-44; albeit the latter possesses greater minimum liability requirements, which is $100,000 for a personal and $50,000 for property damage. The cost of filing FR-44 is 15 dollars, similarly to SR-22. However, there is an increase in the overall cost of getting insured, because of the traffic violation, as well as increased liability limits.